Surf’s Up Chicken Salad

I originally intended to make this dish for my daughter, but ended up loving it so much, that it also made it’s way into my adult lunch repertoire! (Add a little extra salt and seasoning if making it for yourself.) Fresh, quick and healthy. Doesn’t get much better than this!

Ingredients

1 small boneless, skinless chicken breast, grilled and chopped into bite size pieces (Leftover rotisserie chicken works great too!)
1/2 – 1 medium tomato, deseeded and chopped
1/2 – 1 full avocado (Depends on the size, I usually use I medium or 1/2 large)
1-2 Tbsp of mild, full fat all natural (preferably organic) yogurt
2 Tbsp of shredded cheddar cheese

20130606-232721.jpg

Chop up all your ingredients, and mix in a bowl with the cheddar and yogurt. (You can always leave the cheddar out if your baby is not a huge fan!)

20130606-232835.jpg

And…that’s it. Told ya it was easy!

I put less yogurt in this when serving more as a “finger food”, I go with more if I’m slapping it between two pieces of bread. Same goes for the amount of each ingredient. I put a rough estimate of what I usually throw in the bowl 😉 ! If you like less tomato, use less. Want more avocado? Go for it! Whatever you prefer! This also makes a great blender meal for the younger crowd. (Just make sure to skin the tomatoes.)

This is not a freezer friendly meal, but it’s so good, there won’t be any leftovers!

– Stephanie

Adapted from Annabel Karmel’s California Chicken recipe, First Meals Original Edition

Leave a Reply

